Photo by © Jeremy Brevard-USA TODAY Sports
Clemson Football

Three Tigers Named to Maxwell Award watch list

July 15, 2019

The Maxwell Football Club today announced its watch lists for the 83rd annual Maxwell Award.

The Maxwell Award, named in honor of Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell, has been given to America's College Player of the Year since 1937. Maxwell's contributions to the game of football were extensive, including time as a player, a sportswriter and an official.

The reigning 2018 Maxwell Award winner Tua Tagovailoa (Alabama) heads the 2019 list with a slew of 2018 semifinalists returning; including AJ Dillon (Boston College), Travis Etienne (Clemson), Laviska Shenault (Colorado), D'Eriq King (Houston), Ian Book (Notre Dame), Justin Herbert (Oregon), Rondale Moore (Purdue), Zack Moss (Utah) and Jonathan Taylor (Wisconsin). Alabama and Clemson lead the pack with three Maxwell Award candidates each as the season approaches.

Tagovailoa capped a brilliant 2018 season at Alabama by becoming the third Crimson Tide player to win the Maxwell Award, joining AJ McCarron (2013) and Derrick Henry (2015). Josh Allen, the 2018 Bednarik Award winner, was the first player from the University of Kentucky to win the award. Allen was chosen with the 7th overall pick in the 2019 NFL Draft by the Jacksonville Jaguars. Tagovailoa will return to Tuscaloosa for his junior season at Alabama.

This season Clemson’s three representatives are all underclassmen as Etienne is joined by Trevor Lawrence and Justyn Ross on the Maxwell Award watch list.

Click here to view the entire list.

Discussion from...

Three Tigers Named to Maxwell Award watch list

873 Views | 0 Replies | Last: 4 mo ago by Staff Reports
There are not any replies to this post yet.
Page 1 of 1
Verify your student status
See Subscription Benefits
Trial only available to users who have never subscribed or participated in a previous trial.