Photo by © Anderson Independent Mail-USA TO
Clemson Football

Thomas, Simmons headline Bednarik Award Watch List

July 15, 2019

The 25th annual Chuck Bednarik Award watch list was announced earlier today and two Tigers found their way onto the list.

The Bednarik Award has been presented to the College Defensive Player of the Year since 1995. Chuck Bednarik, former standout at Penn and with the Philadelphia Eagles, is a member of both the College Football Hall of Fame's Class of '69 and the NFL Hall of Fame's Class of '67.

The watch list once again incorporates a broad spectrum of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) programs and conferences from coast to coast. 

The Chuck Bednarik Award watch list features fresh faces, as 2018 winner Josh Allen (Kentucky) and finalists Quinnen Williams (Alabama) and Christian Wilkins (Clemson) have all moved on to the NFL. The lone returning semifinalist Grant Delpit (LSU) will be joined by a talented group of defensive candidates from conferences across America, with Alabama, Clemson, Colorado, Florida, Fresno State, LSU, Miami, Michigan, Michigan State, Mississippi State, Northwestern, Notre Dame, Penn State, Syracuse, TCU, Utah and Utah State all boasting multiple candidates.

Josh Allen, the 2018 Bednarik Award winner, was the first player from the University of Kentucky to win the award. Allen was chosen with the 7th overall pick in the 2019 NFL Draft by the Jacksonville Jaguars. 

Clemson is represented on the list by linebacker Isaiah Simmons and defensive end Xavier Thomas.

Click here to see the full list.

Discussion from...

Thomas, Simmons headline Bednarik Award Watch List

747 Views | 0 Replies | Last: 4 mo ago by Staff Reports
There are not any replies to this post yet.
Page 1 of 1
Verify your student status
See Subscription Benefits
Trial only available to users who have never subscribed or participated in a previous trial.