Robinson, Mayaka Named MAC Hermann Trophy Semifinalists

December 3, 2019

Feel the difference - The best user experience on mobile devices or personal computers. Avoid clickbait and sites bloated with advertising!  Join us today for just $1 or get a full year for $63.17.

Register for a FREE ACCOUNT today and you are entered to win a LIMITED EDITION Clemson football. ← Learn More

Robbie Robinson and Philip Mayaka have been named as two of the 15 semifinalists for the MAC Hermann Trophy, as announced earlier today by United Soccer Coaches and the Missouri Athletic Club. The award is regarded as the most prestigious honor in college soccer, as it is presented annually to the best men's and women's soccer player in NCAA Division I. Mayaka is the lone freshman to be named a semifinalist.

“They are both very fine players and are each deserving of the recognition,” said Head Coach Mike Noonan. “It speaks volumes for the season we have had as a team. We play a team sport, and I think the success they have is a derivative of the success we have had overall.”

“I am sure that both Robinson and Mayaka are pleased with this acknowledgment, but I know their focus is on Friday night's match.” 

The 15 semifinalists will now be voted on by head coaches from around the country, with the top three individuals set to be named finalists for the award. The finalists will be named on Dec. 13 in conjunction with the College Cup. 

Robinson and Mayaka are the first two players named semifinalists for the award while Noonan has been at the helm in Clemson. Clemson's program has had seven individuals earn finalist honors, with Wolde Harris being named a finalist in 1994 and 1995. Dane Richards was the latest Tigers to be named a finalist, earning the nod in 2006. Bruce Murray and Wojtek Krakowiak are Clemson's two Hermann Trophy winners, earning the recognition in 1987 and 1998, respectively.

Clemson is joined by the University of Virginia as the only program with two players named to the semifinalist list. The ACC is represented by five semifinalists, with Wake Forest having one player named.

The Clemson men's soccer team will be back in action as they host the Stanford Cardinal on Friday, Dec. 6 at 6 p.m., at Historic Riggs Field. The match will feature three semifinalists, as Stanford's Tanner Beason joins Robinson and Mayaka on the list of 15 honorees.

Tags: Soccer, Clemson, 2019
Discussion from...

Robinson, Mayaka Named MAC Hermann Trophy Semifinalists

785 Views | 0 Replies | Last: 7 mo ago by CU Athletic Communications
There are not any replies to this post yet.
Page 1 of 1
subscribe Verify your student status
See Subscription Benefits
Trial only available to users who have never subscribed or participated in a previous trial.