Photo by © Bart Boatwright-USA TODAY Sports
Clemson Football

Swinney sees himself in Burlsworth Trophy winner Hunter Renfrow

December 4, 2018

ACC Championship Special - 2 Months for $2 Bucks

When the Burlsworth Trophy was created in 2010, Clemson head coach Dabo Swinney started to talk with former SID Tim Bourret.

“Who we got who qualifies for this?” Swinney would ask Bourret.

The Burlsworth Trophy is given to the most outstanding player who began his career as a walk-on. Heisman Trophy winner Baker Mayfield won the walk-on award in 2015 and 2016.

For the past three years, one player has been on Swinney’s mind as awards season began: walk-on-turned-superstar Hunter Renfrow.

Verify your student status
See Subscription Benefits
Trial only available to users who have never subscribed or participated in a previous trial.